A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

I have so little patience for talking about movies like 2001, or actually, almost anything Kubrick has done. I want to shake people and say that "just because it doesn't make sense to you doesn't mean it's really deep." In fact, it's probably just boring. But I don't really want to argue about it. Kubrick drowns away in my apathy bucket.

Okay, perhaps that isn't entirely fair. There are a few exceptions - I adore Dr. Strangelove and feel lukewarm about Barry Lyndon and the Shining but absolutely will not watch Clockwork Orange. But I also haven't seen everything - Full Metal Jacket is a gaping absence in the List of Movies Seen by Me, and so is Lolita, light of my life, fire of my loins.

(I just got an email from a friend saying that she had just watched 2001, and wrote: "MY GOD. IT IS THE MOST BORING THING I'VE EVER SEEN! IT IS ALSO THE MOST BRILLIANT AND COMPLETE MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN! I've never seen anything like it. It's amazing. There's so much in it that I can't even begin to connect all the dots. I've formed some preliminary thoughts on it and it's driving me towards obsession." I don't know how to quite respond to that. "I think it's just boring.")

I miss watching movies. I've seen two or three since I've been here, plus the beginning of Lord of the Rings a few times. (I started watching in a sweetheart stoner's room, and the purple haze got to me.)

I'm so cah-ranky lately. I'm turning into a cantankerous old lady. I have no time or energy for crap.

2003-04-07, stanley kubrick can suck my left one

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland