A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

I managed to get both fat and sick in Italy. I am, as can be expected, little pleased with these developments.

Obviously I am nowhere near where I was last summer, when I weighed upwards of 235 pounds, and wore size 20 (and up) pantalones. But my 14s, which have always been loose, even when I first bought them, are now growing tight.

My parents arrived some time ago, two weeks ago, and took me on a whirlwind tour of Wales and Italy. Pub food isnt (sorry punctuation kids, no apostrophes for us today) exactly light food, and we often ate ice cream, chips, burgers, and biscuits. Italy was even worse. My mother is growing more and more sedentary. Her walking is fragile, and so we took cabs EVERYWHERE. Three or four course meals, gelato, olive oil, oy, its a marvel I havent gained back everything that I lost. Its been three weeks of heavy eating, and no exercise. Little wonder I have gained weight. I am not pleased with this, and I doubt I can lose any weight before returning back to the states. I dont think I really look bad, per se, but its uncomfortable.

Furthermore, my mother got me sick. I am now struggling with the same cold I have had all semester. I cough constantly, I sneeze even more often, and I just suffer from a general malaise. This is not how I want to spend my last few days in Rome. Essentially all I want to do all day is sleep, sleep, sleep.

Also I am emotional unstable.

When my mother left last night for home, I burst into tears and sobbed my way back to the hostel. I think this is probably because I have been sporadic in my taking of prozac, which always makes me a little more fragile emotionally.

2003-04-27, update

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland