A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

Apparently we're going about a "getting to know each other in ways other than physically" stage. Or biblically. So, I've so far seen heaps of him. Yesterday I tended his hungover self for a bit, and today I had a Huge Day of the Man With Whom I'm not really Dating but have Slept with.

I suppose we are dating, though, cause we've been doin' stuff together. We went to a nature preserve, where we got a little bit confused trying to find the bird hide, and it came out that I hadn't actually been there, as I had led him to believe. I am not a liar! I am not a liar! I am not a liar! I just, oh, misled him unintentionally.

"So how do you know there are ducks?"
"Well, I don't, really."
"So how do you know there's a hide?"
"Well, I don't! I'm assuming! The sign says there's a hide!"
"How do you know there's even a pond!"
"Does that not look like a pond up ahead?"
"Bloody Yank!"

I believe it was good natured teasing. Also he was hungover. Baby, I did not rub this in, but the signs and maps confirmed my always-right-self. But I'm an American, I have to be extra-tactful. But he decided to turn around and go to the beach, with the little ponies, where I very much had been, and which I enjoyed (and he enjoyed!) quite a bit. I totally had to carry the "tripod of guilt" for the rest of the outting.

Also we went out for Italian.

While Shan thought it was an (I'm guessing empty?) "stab at compensation," I think we will be friends.

Shan says that he's a fool, and you know, I'd rather him a fool than an asshole. I don't think he's an asshole. But it is kinda weird sometimes. I miss the heavy petting!

My heart may get broken but no blood shall be spilt! Wouldn't have it, my darling Jeff.

We'll just have to see what happens.

2003-02-09, stabbing at compensation

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland