A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

For some reason, the Lily Smalls in the Mirror thing totally reminds me of Gollum.

I'm going to Weight Watchers in half an hour. I hope there are a lot of funny British housewives (I don't really know what to expect - probably not the collection of Jewish widowers I had on the Main Line) to amuse me.

Last night I covered my essay, halfway done, with unintelligible scrawlings. "Wales p --- the standards of Wes. Civ dante and c etc H d. not appr of Haz. STAT!!!" I should learn not to do these things. Oh, the things I should learn not to do!

2003-05-14, I could count them on my toes, and I have a million toes

Don't worry, you got it.

I love this bit: (From Thirteen ways of looking at a Hoover)

"Most of us in a lifetime get to know
One, two, three hoovers. And that is enough.
We think we know the species.

But what of the professionals, the home-helps,
The Rent-a-Maids from Hampstead?
Out of the hundreds of hoovers
Their fingers have caressed,
One, two, three stand out
Incomparable.

As they think of these
Majestic, suave, blond super-hoovers,
Their thighs grow supple with pride,
Their pupils take on the steady gleam
Of an enthusiast, they are fulfilled.

We don't know the half of what hoovers can do.

2003-05-13, number eleven

I'm trying to see if I can do this all multiple entries style. I decided I don't like how short entries look on the page. Here goes!

2003-05-13, La la lalala

I would like to be in a position where I could design jewelry for myself.

I have developed quite the collection of unpublished material relevant to my essay, and I fully intend to stash it away somewhere special. Kinda like that time I stashed a Dutch artist's notes translated into English - damned hard to get a hold of. It was only luck that I happened to meet a woman who wrote her dissertation on the artist. I don't know if I'll ever really need them again, but the only way I get myself to throw out articles ordinarily is because I promise myself that, you know, this is what libraries are for and I should let them be the pack rats. It's a pretty cool collection I have - drafts not submitted yet for publication, unpublished addresses.

I could maybe marry a jeweler, I suppose. This is always an option.

I'm reading 1984. And listening to Ladytron. I must admit, the combination is better than Angela Carter and Cowboy swing, but not by much.

2003-05-13, Boring

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland