A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

Sarah came up from Rome to see me. She has gone back to London. We got to play tourists, and I went out drinking on Wednesday without her (but with her blessing.) Men decent enough to date me won't because I'm leaving in two months. It's cool, though. I can forgive them their severe lack of imagination. Oh, actually, I probably won't. They aren't courageous! They aren't for me.

I cooked for Sarah - tacos and pancakes - and we wandered Llandudno in the mist and fog. The place had an eery, deserted carnival feel to it. Also it had a dry ski slope - how odd. We were disturbed by the creaking, empty ski lift. It was very touristy but the highlight of the day was definitely the lamb that chose me as its mother.

I must have mother vibes. We passed through a kissing gate, and it turned from its mother and its sibling and trundled blissfully towards me, pawing at my trousers and suckling on my fingers. It was quite determined to wrest some milk from my fingers. I could have picked up the tiny little thing. Sarah and I kept making cooing noises about how yummy lamb would be for dinner.

Wandering Llandudno, we talked about my sex(ish) life, which we seemed to talk of often. It seems to worry people a fair amount, but I am happy - or certainly no more unhappy than I was last semester when dark moods befell me quite often. Anyway, we decided this is less a case of Lisa goes to the Beach than a realization of the forthright, aggressive, sexy person I always practically threatened my friends with becoming. (At one point I said "Man, I'm easy," and Sarah said "You're not easy. I think easy is when you're the one being picked up. You're more like a sexual predator... well, that sounds awful." I prefer to think of myself as a jungle cat.)

I said at one point, "Anyway, I can't quite be Lisa on the Beach because I don't think I've ever been anything less than unabashedly nerdy."
"You're not nerdy," said Sarah. "You're intellectual."
"There's a difference?"
"Nerds wear glasses."

Anyway, we made pancakes and compared them to all my lovers, future and past. I made a monster pancake at one time - it filled the whole of my massive massive pan and was a good inch thick. We're a little worried about that boyfriend. The pancakes were pretty good, though not always thoroughly cooked.

I tried to be slick and hide my pirated version of Nick Cave's latest album in Sarah's bag so that she wouldn't protest taking it (she loves Nick Cave and deserves it more than me) but she found it. She took it anyway.

It was a nice day and two half days. I realize that I don't laugh much here.

2003-03-21, Sarita

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland