A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

We are not whole bad or good
Who live our lives Under Milk Wood.

This morning I reread Under Milk Wood while listening to Richard Burton's rendition. Came to a bad end, very enjoyable.

Remorse n. A feeling of compunction, or of deep regret and repentance, for a sin or wrong committed.

1. I don't feel very good about having slept with (two) men who had girlfriends. I won't likely do it again (unless we're talking very changed circumstances).

2. But I don't feel remorseful, and you know what? I probably couldn't make myself.

3. I have regret - mostly because, really (for cloudy, not entirely clear reasons) I didn't feel very good about it - but no compunction for a wrong committed, because even though it has gotten Shan very upset, I don't think I am very much in the wrong (if at all.)

I suppose it's probably worse because there's very clearly no love involved (and in one case, no affection). There's a line that I like from Christian Meredith's novel Shifts. The highschool friend of one man has moved into him, and started sleeping with his wife. Oh, it's a good book and I won't do it justice with my half remembered recitation.

Unrelated: I think my friend Charlotte is trying to set up her friend. I was thinking about how he would be a fabulous boyfriend, and if not for me, for one of my friends. I like him, what with his inherent human decency. I was looking at the pictures of my single friends, and damn, they are good looking people. Damn, my friends are hot. If I were a man and if they were gay or some combination of those things, I'd be all about them.

2003-05-04, Off to Gomorrah!

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland