A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

"So, we had one drink in Paddy's but it was full of men we didn't know and they were all watching football, so we walked down the hill to the Yellow Pub but there were people in there we didn't want to see, and I decided I really wanted a gin and tonic (which I kept calling g & t because yes, I am fifty). Up the hill, to the bar on our dormitory site, but the tonic was flat!"

"The tonic was flat!?"

"Yes! Hold me!" He comforted me in my time of flat-tonic-water grief.

"And there was a creepy old man, too."

---

I have just spent about 24 hours away from the internet. It was good. I bought a few books - Tom Jones and (snarf) Ivanhoe. Ah, poor Scott, didn't know that the Normans were far more manly than the Saxons - whatcha gonna do? Anglo-Saxon kings were the fops of medieval Europe. Still, thoroughly enjoying it's silliness.

Tom Jones was because I decided I needed some perspective and sexual ethics in my life, and he seemed the right place to go for right now. Yesterday we ate ice cream on the pier, harrassed (chased!) the new babies of the still fat but no longer pregnant ponies, and played on the swingset. Add to this a dinner cooked by my lovely Irish woman and a failed pub crawl, a deep sound sleep, a workout session, a phone call to the states, and I am good as ever.

He told Charlotte that he really likes me, and Charlotte vouches for his good character. Charlotte or "Emma Woodhouse" if you will, is pleased with herself. But I don't know if he knows he's getting involved with the female Mr. Wickham. Insolent and infamous. Nothing more may happen though. I stared out a high-up window, taking in the mountains, turning over my insides and taking careful note of the textures, feeling myself for rot.

2003-05-07, g & t

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland