A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

Fade

There are these women that have just sort of faded out of my life. I have never known them very well, but in the slight time I have spent in their company I know that I could have become very close with them. One, honestly, restored my faith in my schoolmates. She apologized for the tactless behavior of our group. I was floored by her thoughtfulness. One was so fair and kind and animated, but she moved to Montreal. I knew, almost as soon as I realized how wonderful they were, that I couldn't be friends with them. We are going different places, I realize, but we could be bosom friends. I recognize kindred spirits. This had a point, but I guess I just wanted to commit these women to memory. Her curly hair the color of wheat, her funny job painting "cowches", her laugh (I can hear it), her genuine smile and the sense I felt of ease in her presence. They're hard to hold onto. I could have loved them, but they're fading from me.

2002-09-02, fade

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland