A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

A narrative, true or presumed to be true, relating to important events and celebrated persons of a more or less remote past; a historical relation or anecdote.

I have had a hilarious evening. My friend brought back super nintendo, and so we sat around watching the trippy graphics and laughing hysterically at the mushrooms, and the clouds with eyes, and the fact that we all tended to pirouette to our doom. There's nothing quite so hilarious as dying as one is pirouette-ing.

The girls are calling me an "intergalactic hussy." Go figure.

I have not been very productive. We sat around and played on the computer, and the girls made my desktop "wild porks." If you ever need a good laugh, Raleigh is the man for you. Oh, he'd be so hurt to hear me say that. I get the impression that he took himself pretty seriously. He brought back psychedelic drugs from South America which he called "cordials." They made him a refined gentleman, a man of the world. Did you know he started to write a history of the entire world, starting with Adam and Eve? He got up to the second Punic war before he died.

The other night, after a concert, I ran into a girl who goes to school with me. She was at the concert with her boyfriend, and they gave me a ride back to the campus. She chattered in the back seat, slightly tipsy and I suspect light headed, about Anaheim's rally monkey, baseball, and the anti-war goings on.

It's so much harder for me to deal with the present. I have to incorporate it into me, my politics is part of me, I can't just sit back and assess, I have to be an agent, subject, actor. I have to be what I study, and I'm not dead. (I have edited this about a thousand times, because it is hard for me to write about it. It is hard for me to make this part of myself. I am going to have to take this discomfort and run with it.)

I am going to write the best reader responses ever. They are a little bit stream of consciousness, but I am being Smart with a capital S, so hopefully I will knock the socks off of my professor. I am getting under the skin of Mr. Naipaul. I hope he doesn't mind this. I am getting back into my school mode, though it took me several months. I need to go abroad though, like you have no idea. I will be a hunk of school related depression if I have to stay here.

2002-10-20, Current affairs

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland