A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

It's my mom's birthday.

Bitterly cold out. Some wind caught the salt from the road and stung my legs, and I cursed so loudly.

you do not do, you do not do

I think I'm going to ask my friend Becky out on a romantic date. I'm in the mood for a romantic date.

2005-03-09, -

I would like to smell like an under-ripe pear.

2005-03-08, -

Linguine + lemon juice + garlic and olive oil + black pepper + romano cheese = my favorite "bare cupboard" dinner of all time.

2005-03-08, -

Oh, Hello March.

I'm so hungry.

2005-03-01, -

My secret santa gave me THE best thing you can imagine. A doorstop in the shape of a bird. A bird ornament. And THREE pillows with embroidered birds on them, in dark blue and white. Totally gorgeous. I was totally floored.

My head hasn't been with me. Sarah noted that I used the word stultified to describe myself three times yesterday. I think it was because I was too stultified to come up with a new word. Oh, I am slow moving and dull. My boss is buoyant today - totally energetic. But I am very slow. I make mistakes in slow motion.

Last night I cooked dinner for Steph and Sarah. I had promised them risotto better than sex, but it was not. It was gummy and dry. I screwed up on the sauce for my chicken. It was thin and watery. I forgot the garlic. I used too much parsley. My head wasn't all there. I'm usually a fussy cook who has good results. Yesterday I was just fussy.

I was also drunk, intermittently teary and jubilant. We watched Kids in the Hall. Today I'm tired.

When people ask me the length requirement for our essay contest at work, I am oh so tempted to say "Like a bikini: long enough to cover everything it needs to, short enough to be interesting." But I refrain from smart-allecky comments.

At work, I'm friends with the IT guy. He has a dry sense of humor. We talk for ages when we can. He asked me to bring in my photoalbum. That's a short cut into my good graces. He laughed at my angsty self portraits from highschool.

It snowed in my city last night. I woke up many times during the night, and opened up the windows and leaned out as far as I could, and touched the snow on the roof.

I walked to work through the slush, and my bare legs became quite red. I played Ladytron very very loudly on my headphones.

I'm so tempted not to work. But I know if I go home and stay in bed, I won't feel good.

2005-03-01, -

Well, that was a shortlived romance. And now I'm devastated. I know I'll feel better in a while, but it's hard.

If you've read this, or have been reading this, it'd be nice if you'd say hello. Especially whoever it is who found me by searching for my name. My email address is margrietta at gmail. I'm dying of curiosity.

2005-02-27, -

I found a man I like.

About time!

2005-02-16, -

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland