A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

Did you know that I have the most adorable bosses?

It's true. They all think I should be a librarian, and I don't want to break their little hearts, but their apprentice isn't sure she wants to be a librarian. However, I felt as happy as a clam today, as I moved through the stacks with a swing in my step and a smile on my face. I talked to myself, I chattered with the friends I keep in my head, and laughed and read books when no one was looking. Modern Dance! Pronouncing Shakespeare! World Slavery! Book Reviews! Welsh Dictionaries! German Idioms! World Cinema! Dictionary of Monasticism! Papers of the President!

I tell you, I was in seventh heaven.

My beautiful friend came to pick me up for a whirlwind lunch at a new, warm, clean Asian (perhaps fusion? Definitely Thai influenced - yum.) restaurant on mainstreet. We ate, and talked briskly about study abroad. She's so beautiful and elegant - the kinda girl you'd turn gay for, but the kinda girl who's so special as a friend that you'd never want to ruin it by sleeping with her.

I made her laugh on the way back, when I said that our friend Jason just "sorta happens more than anything." You cannot find Jason - ("The phone line at his house has been busy for five days straight"). Jason will happen to you. He shows up when he shows up. He's a wonderful man, sometimes sad, but most of the time hilarious and fun. You just have to have faith that he will happen before you leave again.

Someone said I looked beautiful today. Someone said I looked fantastic today. I glowed.

It's been a good day.

2003-01-02, today

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland