A Trivial Comedy for serious people archives

Oh no no.

Matt, There are many many pictures. Let's see. There are pictures of flowers, my room, my friends, my acquaintances, several boys including the one who likes boys, mountains (The three peaks I have climbed), lakes, ruins, Castles (Caernarfon, Dolbadarn, Beaumaris), five or six photos of swans each lovelier than the last (Seas gliding with swans in the seal barking moon), sheep sheep and lambs, fountains in Tivoli, a protest in Caernarfon, PACE flags in Rome, SPQR, Art nouveau fountains, Anita Garibaldi riding her rearing stallion sidesaddle while suckling a babe and raising a revolver aloft (mm, Nationhood!), and a few of me.

Scott, I haven't actually seen Sex in the City. You know better how I prefer to delude myself: "Young girls lie bedded soft or glide in their dreams, with rings and trousseaux, bridesmaided by glow-worms down the aisles of the organplaying wood. The boys are dreaming wicked or of the bucking ranches of the night and the jolly, rodgered sea." and "Only you can hear and see, behind the eyes of the sleepers, the movements and countries and mazes and colours and dismays and rainbows and tunes and wishes and flight and fall and despairs and big seas of their dreams."

For shame.

FIRST DROWNED
Remember me, Captain?

CAPTAIN CAT
You're Dancing Williams!

FIRST DROWNED
I lost my step in Nantucket.

SECOND DROWNED
Do you see me. Captain? the white bone talking? I'm Tom-Fred the donkeyman ... We shared the same girl once ... Her name was Mrs Probert...

WOMAN'S VOICE
Rosie Probert, thirty three Duck Lane. Come on up, boys, I'm dead.

THIRD DROWNED
Hold me. Captain, I'm Jonah Jarvis, come to a bad end, very enjoyable...

FOURTH DROWNED
Alfred Pomeroy Jones, sealawyer, born in Mumbles, sung like a linnet, crowned you with a flagon, tattooed with mermaids, thirst like a dredger, died of blisters...

FIRST DROWNED
This skull at your earhole is

FIFTH DROWNED
Curly Bevan. Tell my auntie it was me that pawned the ormolu clock...

CAPTAIN CAT
Aye, aye. Curly.

SECOND DROWNED
Tell my missus no my never

THIRD DROWNED
I never done what she said I never...

FOURTH DROWNED
Yes, they did.

FIFTH DROWNED
And who brings cocoanuts and shawls and parrots to my Gwen now? How's it above?

SECOND DROWNED
Is there rum and lavabread?

THIRD DROWNED
Bosoms and robins?

FOURTH DROWNED
Concertinas?

FIFTH DROWNED
Ebenezer's bell?

FIRST DROWNED
Fighting and onions?

SECOND DROWNED
And sparrows and daisies?

THIRD DROWNED
Tiddlers in a jamjar?

FOURTH DROWNED
Buttermilk and whippets?

FIFTH DROWNED
Rock-a-bye baby?

FIRST DROWNED
Washing on the line?

SECOND DROWNED
And old girls in the snug?

THIRD DROWNED
How's the tenors in Dowlais?

FOURTH DROWNED
Who milks the cows in Maesgwyn?

FIFTH DROWNED
When she smiles, is there dimples?

FIRST DROWNED
What's the smell of parsley?

2003-05-09, Came to a bad end

before / after

archives / website / hello book / diaryland